The good things I remember….

I remember how you used to wash my hair in the shower. {I don’t remember the last time you got in with me.}

I remember how you used to rub my feet just because I was cleaning all day. {I don’t think you have rubbed any part of my body in over a year.}

I remember how you used to paint my toes, and even picked out the color. {Once I laughed because you got a little sloppy when you weren’t paying attention, and you haven’t done it since.}

I remember when you would sneak up behind me, wrap your arms around me, and dance me around the kitchen.
{Now when you come up behind me, your silly, and awkward, as if your only doing it for your own amusement.}

I remember when you would cover my ears when an emergency truck went by. {You just watch them drive by now.}

I remember how you would wrap your arms around me if I was crying in my sleep. {Now I wake up to you just saying my name, or, to my own cries, and you not noticing.}

I remember when you would make plans for us, and just tell me when to be ready. {You always ask me if I “wanna do something?” and don’t sound excited. And then get mad when I say, “no, it’s OK.”}

I remember when you took such good care of yourself. {Now you shower ever day, but only brush your teeth if I remind you. It’s as if you don’t want me kissing you.}

I remember when you used to cook me dinner on your day off. {You don’t care what we have anymore, just, whatever I make is fine.}

I wish you remembered. I wish you remembered when you did those things. And I wish you remembered how different things were when you did those things.

Leave a Reply

